Origins and Development of the Prize Contests as Media of Knowledge at the French Academies since 1670

Subproject by Dr. Martin Urmann

The project focuses on the origins and the development of the academic prize contests, analysing the epistemic status of the genre amidst the changing institutional and medial contexts of the république des lettres. The project’s central interests are the early decades of the prize competitions at the Académie française since 1670 as well as the prix d’éloquence and the prix de morale at the provincial academies between 1720 and 1760.

In a first step, the early history of the concours académique is reconstructed in order to reveal the essential characteristics of this special genre of scholarly debate in the république des lettres. It is particularly striking to see how deeply the prize contests are rooted in the traditional rhetorical and dialectical modes of dealing with the question. This is demonstrated, on a formal level, by the persistence of the polar question as the determinant way of discussing knowledge in the concours académique and the (very) common theological and ethical subjects chosen by the academies. The prize contests thus indicate the continuity of traditional, and especially of scholastic, forms of debating knowledge at the academies that these institutions, eager to present themselves as the agents of change, explicitly dismissed. The modern history of science has followed along this path for a long time.

While research on the prize contests has mainly focused on the scientific and technological competitions of the 18th century – considering them as proof of the academies’ agenda of innovation – the project deals with the transfer of knowledge in the rhetorical prize contests. Despite the changing functions and topics of the concours académique, the tradition of the prix d’éloquence, and the prix de morale, remained one of the vital pillars of this institution during the 18th century. The competitions at the provincial academies between 1720 and 1760, especially in Toulouse (Jeux Floraux), Pau, Marseille, Montauban and Dijon, are at the heart of the project. Increasingly influenced by Enlightenment discourse, these prize contests deal with the burning philosophical issues of the epoch, above all the changing role of the arts and sciences, the development of morals and the status of the rhetorical knowledge production as compared to the new knowledge of the natural sciences. What becomes evident is a process of transformation taking place within the rhetorical prize contests towards topics and modes of reflection that go beyond the traditional patterns of the genre. The famous concours of the Académie de Dijon won by Rousseau in 1750: „Si le rétablissement des sciences et des arts a contribué à épurer les mœurs?“ is only the most prominent example of this development.

The major focus in analysing the changing epistemic status of the concours académique is the question to what extent the rhetorical competitions of the provincial academies, starting in the 1720s, turned into a textual medium reflecting the crucial epistemic transformations within the république des lettres since the 17th century. To what extent do they mirror the changes that accompany the shift towards written communication and towards the serial production and accumulation of factual knowledge?

Entstehung und Entwicklung der Preisfragen als Reflexionsmedien des Wissens an den französischen Akademien ab 1670

Unterprojekt von Dr. Martin Urmann

 
Das Projekt nimmt die Entstehung und Entwicklung der akademischen Preisfragen in den Blick und geht ihrem Geltungsanspruch im Wandel der institutionellen, medialen und wissensgeschichtlichen Kontexte nach. Untersucht werden die frühen Dekaden der Preisfragen an der Académie française seit 1670 und die prix d’éloquence bzw. prix de morale an den Provinzakademien von 1720 bis 1760.

Das Projekt rekonstruiert die Frühgeschichte des concours académique, um die konstitutiven Merkmale aufzuweisen, die diese spezielle Gattung gelehrter Diskussion in der république des lettres prägen. Bemerkenswert ist dabei vor allem die tiefe Verankerung in tradierten rhetorischen und dialektischen Mustern der Fragebehandlung. Hiervon zeugen bereits auf der formalen Ebene die Entscheidungsfrage als bestimmender Modus der Wissensdiskussion und inhaltlich die gängigen theologischen und moralphilosophischen Themen, auf die im concours académique rekurriert wird, samt den einschlägigen stilistischen Darstellungsweisen. Insofern sind die Preisfragen als Indiz für die Kontinuität traditioneller, insbesondere auch scholastisch geprägter Formen der Wissensverhandlung an den Akademien zu werten, welche diese zeitgenössisch in ihrer ganz auf Innovation ausgerichteten Selbstdarstellung geflissentlich übergehen. Die moderne Wissenschaftsgeschichte ist ihnen hierin lange Zeit gefolgt.

Standen in der bisherigen Forschung die naturwissenschaftlichen Wettbewerbe des 18. Jahrhunderts als Anzeichen für die Innovationsorientierung der Akademien im Mittelpunkt sowie die seit den 1750er Jahren zunehmenden technologisch-praktischen Ausschreibungen, liegt der Fokus des Projekts auf den rhetorischen Preisfragen. Trotz der verschiedenen Refunktionalisierungen des Preisfragenformats blieb die – sich wandelnde – Tradition der prix d’éloquence bzw. prix de morale auch im Verlauf des 18. Jahrhunderts eines der vitalen Fundamente des concours académique. Als zentral für das Projekt erweisen sich dabei die Wettbewerbe an den Provinzakademien zwischen 1720 und 1760, speziell in Toulouse (Jeux Floraux), Pau, Marseille, Montauban und Dijon. Zunehmend von den Diskursen der aufklärerischen Öffentlichkeit beeinflusst, setzen sich diese mit den philosophisch viru­len­ten Themen der Zeit auseinander, insbesondere mit der gewandelten Stellung der Wissenschaften und Künste und dem Status der rhetorischen Wissensproduktion im Vergleich zum Beobachtungswissen der sciences. So zeigen die einschlägigen Preisfragen immer deutlicher thematische und reflexive Implikationen, die von der Tradition nur noch bedingt gedeckt sind. Der von Rousseau 1750 gewonnene concours der Akademie von Dijon „Si le rétablissement des sciences et des arts a contribué à épurer les mœurs?“, der lange den bevorzugten Gegenstand der Forschung zu den Preisfragen bildete, ist hierfür mithin nur das prominenteste Beispiel.

Den gewandelten Geltungsstatus der Preisfragengattung gilt es dabei insbesondere unter dem Aspekt zu analysieren, inwiefern die Éloquence-Preisfragen der Provinzakademien seit den 1720er Jahren zu einem Reflexionsmedium des Wissenstransfers und der prägenden epistemischen Verschiebungen innerhalb der Gelehrtenrepublik seit dem 17. Jahrhundert werden; inwiefern sie mithin explizit oder implizit den Wandel reflektieren, der mit der Umstellung auf Distanzkommunikation im Medium der Schrift und mit der Periodizität einer auf die Akkumulation von Fakten ausgerichteten Wissensproduktion verbunden ist.