God’s Word Appropriated – Recitation of the Qur’an and Knowledge Formation in Early Islamic Theology

Subproject by Nora K. Schmid

The project examines the actualization of God’s word in speech and cult as well as the role this process played in knowledge formation in early Arabic Islamic culture, particularly in ascetic contexts.

Already in the Qur’an, recitation in front of the emerging community, memorization and interiorization of the revelation as well as different modes of pious devotion are negotiated. But the nexus of recitation and striving for knowledge also has its place in early Islamic theological literature. “Renunciant” literature (zuhd) seems particularly promising for exploring the importance and functions of recitation. Theological texts reflecting the excellence of a group of pious (ahl al-qurʾān), who overlap with the renunciants and learn the sacred text by heart, teach it and keep God’s word alive through recitation, hint at a particular kind of knowledge generated and brought to bear in speech and through performance. Cultic knowledge cannot be grasped in terms of propositional logic. It is constituted through truth claims which are frequently complementary to scholarly strategies of reasoning and intertwined with the latter.

In the framework of the subproject, the transfer of hermeneutic practices in late antique ascetic contexts as evidenced by the practice of recitation is explored. Dealing with knowledge “set free” through contemplative and ritual performance will help to come to grips with processes of transfer constitutive for Late Antiquity that are strongly marked by a new perspective on the self.

Gottes Wort vorgetragen – Koranrezitation und Wissensformierung in der frühislamischen Theologie

Unterprojekt von Nora K. Schmid

 
Das Unterprojekt untersucht die Rolle des Gotteswortes in seiner kultisch-sprachlichen Aktualisierung bei der Formierung von Wissen in der arabisch-islamischen Kultur, insbesondere asketischen Kontexten.

Bereits im Koran selbst werden die vor der werdenden Gemeinde stattfindende Rezitation, Memorisierung und Verinnerlichung der koranischen Offenbarungen sowie Weisen frommer Hingabe verhandelt. Der Konnex von Rezitation und Streben um Wissen hat jedoch auch einen besonderen Stellenwert im frühislamischen theologischen Schrifttum. Als besonders aussagekräftig mit Blick auf die Bedeutung und Funktion der Rezitation zeigt sich etwa die Literatur über „Weltverzicht“ (zuhd). Theologische Texte, in denen die Exzellenz einer sich mit den Weltverzichtübenden überschneidenden frommen Personengruppe (ahl al-qurʾān) reflektiert wird, die den Koran memorisieren, lernen, lehren und somit Gottes Wort in der Rezitation gewärtig halten, deuten auf ein durch Sprachlichkeit allererst entstehendes und zur Geltung gelangendes Wissen. Kultische Wissensbestände entziehen sich aussagenlogischem Zugriff, konstituieren sich aber durch Wahrheitsansprüche, die zu gelehrten Begründungsstrategien komplementär und mit diesen verzahnt sind.

Im Unterprojekt soll ein in spätantiken asketischen Kontexten verorteter Transfer hermeneutischer Verfahren anhand der Praxis der Rezitation weiter ausgelotet werden. Die Auseinandersetzung mit Wissen, das im kontemplativen und rituellen Vollzug „freigesetzt wird“, soll letztlich auch zu der Beschreibung von für die Spätantike konstitutiven Transferprozessen beitragen, die durch eine neue Perspektive auf das Selbst gekennzeichnet sind.