Socially relevant routines of everyday communication

Sub-project by Linda Gennies

This sub-project focusses on three aspects of communicative behaviour central for social interaction: (i) forms of address, (ii) greeting formulae and (iii) socially organising speech acts.

(i) The project investigates address pronouns as well as nominal and abstract forms of address. To begin with, the socio-linguistic and pragmatic distribution of different forms of address will be identified within the corpus of multilingual textbooks from the early modern period. Of particular interest are those nominal forms of address that were used in a non-literal way (e.g. Bruder). The focus is also placed on abstract forms of address such as Euer Gnaden, which appeared as innovative forms of address in early modern Europe. They are especially interesting as they can be seen as a starting point for structural change in the address system of European languages. In the late Middle Ages, all of the transregionally significant European cultural and commercial languages used a second person plural pronoun as a polite pronoun. In the 17th century, only the French vous remained as a 2PL polite pronoun, while the address systems in the other relevant European languages had changed. In Italian, the 2PL pronoun was replaced by Lei 3SG.FEM. In German, the initially new form er/sie 3SG was itself replaced by Sie 3PL, in Spanish, the particular form usted superseded the second person plural pronoun.

Within the scope of this subproject, the corpus of textbooks from three centuries will be studied in detail in order to analyse the change of the European address system and the socio-cultural and situational mechanisms and other factors that influenced this change. 

(ii) In the early modern period, religious greetings were gradually replaced by greetings depending on the time of the day (Guten Tag instead of Grüß Gott). This change will also be explored based on the multilingual textbooks. 

(iii) Finally, the project studies frequently recurring speech acts (e.g. requests, apologies, and compliments) in two different ways: First, the different speech acts can be regarded as socially variable and, therefore, their historical dimension will be explored. Second, more abstract behaviour patterns will be extracted from the model dialogues. Starting with basic rules such as spoken blessings before a meal, this project will also analyse more complex and interlaced patterns of ritualised question-answer sequences or other turn types used in sales negotiations.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Sozial relevante kommunikative Alltagsroutinen der Frühen Neuzeit

Unterprojekt von Linda Gennies

 
Das Unterprojekt fokussiert drei für das soziale Miteinander zentrale Aspekte kommunikativen Verhaltens: (i) Anredeformen, (ii) Grußformeln und (iii) sozial-organisierende Sprechakte. 

(i) Im Bereich der Anredeformen werden neben Anredepronomina auch Nominal- und Abstraktanreden in den Blick genommen. Dabei soll zunächst die soziolinguistische und pragmatische Verteilung der verschiedenen Anredeformen in mehrsprachigen Sprachlehrwerken der Frühen Neuzeit ermittelt werden. Sowohl die Nominalanreden, die teils im nicht-wörtlichen Sinne gebraucht wurden (z.B. Bruder), als auch die im Untersuchungszeitraum neu aufkommenden und sich im gesamten projektrelevanten europäischen Raum verbreitenden Abstrakt­anreden des Typs Euer Gnaden sind darüber hinaus von besonderem Interesse, da von ihnen ein umfassender Wandel im Anredesystem der europäischen Sprachen ausgeht: Hatten im Spätmittelalter noch alle überregional bedeutsamen europäischen Kultur- und Handelssprachen ein Höflichkeits­pronomen 2PL, blieb es bis ins 17. Jahrhundert mit vous nur im Französischen erhalten; im Italienischen wurde es hingegen von Lei 3SG.FEM, im Deutschen zunächst von er/sie 3SG und schließlich von Sie 3PL sowie im Spanischen von der speziellen Form usted verdrängt. Im Rahmen des Unterprojekts soll das drei Jahrhunderte umfassenden Lehrbuchkorpus auf die soziokulturellen und situativen Einflussfaktoren und Mechanismen dieses Wandels hin untersucht werden. 

(ii) Daneben vollzieht sich in der Frühen Neuzeit verstärkt die allmähliche Verdrängung religiöser durch tageszeitbezogene Grußformeln (Typ Guten Tag statt Grüß Gott), deren Verlauf ebenfalls anhand der mehrsprachigen Sprachlehrwerke untersucht werden soll. 

(iii) Schließlich werden Ausdrucksroutinen für weitere häufig wiederkehrende Sprechakte (wie z.B. Bitten, Entschuldigungen und Komplimentieren) in doppelter Hinsicht betrachtet: Einerseits sollen die verschiedenen Sprechakte als sozial variabel dargestellt und zudem in ihrer historischen Dimension nachgezeichnet werden. Andererseits sollen abstraktere Handlungsmuster aus den Dialogen destilliert werden, beginnend bei einfachen Regularien wie einem etwaig zu sprechenden Tischgebet bis hin zu komplexen und oft mehrfach verschachtelten, relativ ritualisierten Sequenzen von Fragen und Antworten oder anderen Turn-Typen in Verkaufsverhandlungen.